Jeff Barrett

Dr. Jeff Barrett is Senior Vice-President at the Critical Path Institute serving as the Executive Director of the Rare Disease Cures Accelerator, Data Analytics Platform and a critical liaison between C-Path and the pharmaceutical industry, foundations, and other key stakeholders, helping grow C-Path’s portfolio in drug development solutions, with a focus, but not limited to model-informed drug development (MIDD) and real world data (RWD) technologies. Jeff was previously Head of Quantitative Sciences at the Bill & Melinda Gates Medical Research Institute. In this role he was responsible for implementing model-based drug development, employing PK/PD modeling, statistics, and clinical trial simulations to advance the discovery and development of new medicines and vaccines.  Prior to MRI, he was Vice President, of Translational Informatics at Sanofi Pharmaceuticals.  He led various aspects of model-based decisionmaking spanning and provided leadership for Sanofi’s cloud-based, high-performance computing and big data initiatives. Jeff spent 10+ years at the University of Pennsylvania where he was Professor, Pediatrics and Director, Laboratory for Applied PK/PD at the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia. Jeff received his B.S. in Chemical Engineering from Drexel University and Ph.D. in Pharmacokinetics from University of Michigan. He has co-authored over 175 manuscripts, is fellow of ACCP and AAPS and the recipient of numerous honors including ACCP awards for Young Investigator (2002) and Mentorship in Clinical Pharmacology (2007) and the AAPS Award in Clinical Pharmacology and Translational Research (2011). Dr. Barrett was awarded for Exceptional Innovation and Advancing the Discipline of Pharmacometrics at the International Society for Pharmacometrics (2013) and elected ISOP Fellow (2017). He is co-Specialty Chief Editor of Frontiers in Obstetric and Pediatric Pharmacology Journal and an active member of the Child Health and Human Development Pediatrics Subcommittee as a study section reviewer.  He was a past acting chair of the FDA Advisory Committee for Pharmaceutical Science and Clinical Pharmacologya voting member of the committee for 8 years.